Jung, Arriba top Phoenix Open

TEAM CHAMPION. The DKGA 1 team composed of Korean golfers won the team title.
TEAM CHAMPION. The DKGA 1 team composed of Korean golfers won the team title.

Davao-based Korean expat Jung In Kyu and businessman Boy Arriba were the big winners in  the 9th Phoenix Open Golf Tournament on Saturday at the Rancho Palos Verdes Golf and Country Club.

Jung fired a gross 31 in the Stableford system of scoring to run away with the overall individual gross title while Arriba scored a net 42 to pocket the overall net crown of the tournament that attracted over 200 golfers.

The other winners were Boy Tan for Class A gross, Rodolfo Luna for Class A net, Eugene Chiong Jr. for Class B grss, Louie Rabat for Class B net, Mark Villorente for Class C gross, Louie Brodeth for Class C net, Vic Rosario for Class D gross, and Ed Camacho for Class D net.

In the team event, Davao Korean Golfers Association (DKGA) 1 composed of Kim Il Gyu, Lee Bong Hee, Han Duk Gi, Lee Jae Un and Park Kway Youl won the title over Eaglemasters.

The Partner Division crown went to Lito Bario and Boy Arriba who bagged his second title in the tournament with a combined 79. Joe Marfori and King Rivas finished second with a 77 besting via countback the pair of Jing In Kyu and Lee Bong Hee.

Tan scored 28 for the Class A gross besting via countback Leo Yap. Luna fired 32 points to beat runner-up Roderick Lo (31) in the Class A net.

Chiong scored a 29 for the Class B gross plum beating Patrick Tan (27) while Rabat had a 41 to edge Joy Manulid (40) in a close battle for the Class B net.

Villorente scored 22 to win the Class C gross crown over Danny Briones (21) while Brodeth had a 37 to nip Dodge Manubay for the Class C net.

In Class D, Rosario’s 18 beat on countback Jay Matalines while Camacho had a 38 to take the Class D net over Rolly Lazate (35).

In the Media division, Imee Garcia (16) won the gross title by countback over Conrado Bernal (16) while Roger Garcia (26) took the net title over Tomas Inigo (23).

Jeremiah Co scored the lone hole-in-one in the tournament sinking it in the 11th. Tony Batao won longest drive while the other individual stroke awards went to Ting Castillo (most accurate), Secretary Manny Pinol (nearest the pin) and Leo ap (eagle on par 5).