Cagefest highlight DEBC 2nd anniversary

The Davao Engineers Basketball Club (DEBC) celebrated its second anniversary with another tournament held at the Davao City Recreation Center on October 3.

The tournament was staged with the partnershp of DEBC and Davies Paints.

DEBC and Davies Paints continue their partnership which established an innovative, sustainable and integrated city wide programme that promote and increase physical activity, healthy lifestyle and key life skills among Davao City basketball enthusiasts from different sectors of the society.

Previously the group was known as PDBC, and has been formed to develop a worthwhile and enjoyable skills activity which promote physical growth and headed to the development of a partnership working using sport and active recreation as a common interest thus, produced three basketball league’s with eight teams last year. Due to requests and vigour public demand, the club increased its members forming ten teams this year namely: Felizarta Team, Palban Team, Malnegro Team, Trangia Team, Castillo Team, Barcelo Team, Alcantara Team, Menchavez Team, Villalba Team & Bitangga Team with more than 130 active members and mostly civil engineers.

Highlight during the 2nd DEBC Anniversary was the “All Star Exhibition Games” which was played by two champion teams last year. Team Felizarta members were: Engr/s Atty. Joseph Dominic S. Felizarta, Arnold P. Sarabia, Ernie A. Malnegro, Federico U. Perez III, Jan Kevin G. Masicampo, Buenaventura M. Mamac, Felinee D. Cabrera, Macquin A. Raganas, Jr., Claudave F. Talungon, Marc Louie A. Secretaria, Dindo C. Corda & Jojie F. Garcia who, emerged as CHAMPION, while Team Palban comprised Engineer/s: Leonard S. Palban, Jimwell L. Bonguyan, Julius A. Libre, Glicerio G. Gomez, Elvador Gerard V. Sayson, Nikko Eric S. Cabatbat, Joseph Edward C. Obias, Manuel D. Aniñon, Jessie Q. Narciso, Cris Fernan Dayrit, Glister Gail D. Gundaya & Darwin Villagonzalo, which placed 1st Runner Up.

Top Ten leading scorers were as follows: Engr/s Federico U. Perez III- 20pts, Ernie A. Malnegro- 16pts, Elvador Gerald V. Sayson- 15pts, Glicerio G. Gomez- 13pts, Joseph Dominic S. Felizarta- 10pts, John Nikko Eric S. Cabatbat- 9pts, Arnold P. Sarabia- 8pts, Macquin A. Raganas, Jr.- 6pts and Glister Gail D. Gundaya- 6pts

Awarding of certificate, cash incentives, distribution of raffle prizes and a salo-salo dinner with the members where among the highlights of the event. In his speech, Atty. Joseph Dominic S. Felizarta(tournament adviser), thanked and acknowledged the effort of the organizers in coordination with Davies Paints Philippines Inc. represented by Mr. Alvin F. Alcantara & Mr. Chris Librando and the participation of the members which contributed to the success of the organization. While, Engr. Jimwell L. Bonguyan, Over All Tournament Chairman also announced that the culmination of the 1st Season of the DEBC Basketball Tournament is set on November this year. (Engr. Sharon Angelica Gilla- Bonguyan, MPA)