MASTERY Samanodi tops 30th GET Golf

Kuresh Samanodi is a master shotmaker who knows when to strike it hot.
On Sunday, the veteran parbuster took advantage of a near flawless game firing 35 Stableford points to grab the premier Class A (0-9 handicap) gross championship and lead the winners circle of the 30th running of the GET Open Golf Tournament at the Apo Golf and Country Club.
Lost in Samanodi’s mastery of the long Apo layout is lawyer Manny Nitorreda who sits as AGCC President. Nitorreda carded a 29 to finish with the runner-up honors. Ian Dagatan won the Class A net title with a 38 besting multi-titled Mike Larrabaster who had a 37.
The tournament, the longest-running golf tournament in Mindanao, is held in honor of the late Guillermo E. Torres, patriarch of the University of Mindanao and the GET business empire. Proceeds of the tournament went to its long-time beneficiary, the scholars of Mount Apo Science Foundation.
UMBN President Dr. Guillermo “Willie” Torres and UMBN exec Edwin Torres awarded the prizes to the winners during the awarding ceremonies at The Royal Mandaya Hotel.
Osamu Ikeda won the Class B (10-18 handicap) gross trophy with a 33 besting Jun Horfilla’s 30 while another veteran Tony Gumapac took the Class B net plum with a 42. Ed Pacana finished runner-up with a 42.
In Class C (19 to 27 handicap), the gross championship went to Ronnie Magsico who submitted a 24 card while Orly Ang settled for runner up honors with a 23. Rex Bergante took home the Class C net title after scoring a 48 and Glenn dela Torre shared honors with the runner-up trophy on a 43.
Finally, Rutchie Albers reigned among the ladies with a gross 18 to beat Airene Takahashi who had a 12 scorecard. Faye Jayno was the net champiom with a 41 while Allyssa Quioque wound up runner up on a 32.