Lucky drive changes fortunes of Butuan golfer

Butuan City’s Ivan Nakila watched his ball disappear from the green and with that stroke of luck, his imagination wandered into a a million windfall and a brand new car waiting for him at the clubhouse.

That ace at Cebu Country Club’s hole no. 15, a long and tricky par-3, gave Nakila a whopping P1 million cash prize along with a brand new Tata Manza Petro, car and P10,000-worth Phoenix Petroleum fuel cards to boot. Nakila’s lucky shot made it to the biggest story of the 2018 Phoenix PULSE Technology Amateur Golf Tournament held at the Cebu Country Club on June 22. 

Guess, some guys really have all the luck. Just a few days earlier, Nakila was travelling from Butuan City to Cebu to try his luck in the prestigious tournament. He did not know, returning home would give him an excess baggage. But that, sure, is a happy problem for Nakila. 

Organizing Phoenix Petroleum couldn’t be happier for Nakila’s fate and the good turnout of participants. 

Ferdie Chua and Ethan Maamo led the honor roll this year as overall gross and overall net champions, respectively. 

In the Team category, the quintet of Mar Selma, Glenn Siao, Alberto Solis, Rey Sanchez, and Rafaelito Barino dominated the competition with 171 points. They bested Team Inno Land II composed of Ferdie Chua, Neil Ong, Thomas Castillo, Charles Ong, and Mark Guanzon (169), which came in second, and the third placer team made up of Victor Yuvallos, Edwin Medalle, Gene Matiga, Bebot Baldemor, and Choie Ramos (165). 

The Partner Division was just as exciting with Herbert Ong and Peter Po, Sr. tallying 86 points to emerge as champions. Jiggy Akol and Lorenz Florendo came in second with a score of 84, just a point ahead of third placers Gibson Balangauan and Ethan Maamo. 

This year’s Individual Division players took to the greens in the hopes of placing in the competition, and the winners are as follows: For Class A, Gross Champion was Nino Bascon, Gross Runner Up was Jun Zambo, Net Champion was Marlo Cugtas, and Net Runner Up was Julius Pierre. For Class B, Gross Champion was Randy Cadiogan, followed by Nelson Yuvallos as Gross Runner Up. Net Champion was Hugo Saurat and Net Runner Up was Jason Yu. For Class C, Joy Anthong Ong was named Gross Champion, while Peter Mancao was Gross Runner Up. Net Champion was Jack Huang and Net Runner Up was Bob de Ocampo. For Class D, Vincent Montejo was declared Gross Champion, while Gross Runner Up was Mark Leviste. Eric Lim finished as Net Champion, while Richmond Alejo was Net Runner Up. 

Special prizes were also given to Nino Bascon for Nearest to the Pin (Hole #5), to Hugo Saurat for Longest Drive (Hole #8), and to Joseph Yukayguan for Accurate Drive (Hole #16). 

All the winners received Royal Selangor Pewter Plates and Phoenix Petroleum fuel cards during the awarding ceremonies at the Cebu Country Club Ballroom. Champions were also given limited edition Phoenix signature golf bags on top of their prizes. 

The Cebu leg of the Phoenix Open is a World Amateur Golfers Championship (WAGC) qualifier. The winners in the five WAGC divisions will advance to the National Finals in September and will get a chance to represent the Philippines and compete against participants of 45 other countries in the World Finals slated in October in Malaysia. 

The Phoenix PULSE Technology Amateur Golf Tournament is part of the annual Phoenix Open, a fundraising event of Phoenix Petroleum for the benefit of Phoenix Philippines Foundation and its programs on education, environment, health, safety, and outreach. 

On the third year of the Phoenix Open in Cebu, over 200 golf enthusiasts from all over the Philippines and outside the country hit the greens for a day of fun, camaraderie, and community-building.

The Phoenix Amateur Golf Tournament—powered by Phoenix PULSE Technology—was presented by Phoenix Petroleum, Luzviminda Engineering, Marra Builders Inc., and Pioneer Insurance, and co-presented by F.F. Cruz & Co., Inc., Mechatrends Contractors Corp., Tata Motors, and Vitol Asia Pte Ltd.