BEST OF 2018 DCSCI bares So Kim Cheng Sports awardees

The Davao City Sports Council Inc. will celebrate another glorious year in sports with the staging of the 24th edition of the annual So Kim Cheng Sports Awards on July 22 at The Royal Mandaya Hotel.

DCSCI president Dexter So announced this year’s ceremonies with eight-year old karatedo phenom Atsuko Kaiyel Tan set to receive her third straight Athlete of the Year award. Tan became the youngest recipient of the award when she first received it back in 2016 at the age of six. With three awards in succession, she is poised to be elevated to the So Kim Cheng Sports Foundation Hall of Fame.

“Kaiyel worked so hard for an athlete her age. This recognition is well deserved,” So said as the DCSCI board officially released the list of honorees.

Tan’s teammate at the Association for the Advancement of Karatedo (AAK) Davao Ian Carlos Pascual will be receiving his first recognition as Male Athlete of the Year awardee in the annual showpiece recognizing the accomplishments of local athletes.

The sports recognition rites is held in honor of the late Davao City sports patron So Kim Cheng.

“It’s another great year for Davao sports and we are proud to have produced high achievers in several fields of competition,” said So.

Tan, daughter of AAK Davao head coach Rommel Tan, won gold medals in the kata and kumite competitions in the 6th Adidas International Karate Cup-Manuel Veguillas Memorial Cup at the SM Mall of Asia recently. She also took the gold in the SM Milo Super Karate Kids National Age Group Championships in Cebu while raking medals in the international front–silver medal in the 7th Vietnhat Open Karate for Kata Girls 6-8 years old in Hanoi, Vietnam and silver medal in Kata in the 10th Kota Kinabalu Open Karate Championships in Sabah, Malaysia.

“Tan’s record is outstanding. That makes her our unanimous choice for Athlete of the Year,” So said.

Pascual, a 16-year old Lifestream student won gold in Kumite -53 Kgs in the 6th Adidas Intl Open Karate Cup-Manuel Veguillas Memorial Cup in SM MOA. He also won a gold in kumite and a bronze in Team Kata in the 10th Kota Kinabalu Open Karate Championships in Sabah, Malaysia.

This year’s batch consists of 17 other promising athletes from 27 different National Sports Association (NSA).

The list of Outstanding Athletes are: Archery–Franceska Glen Gacal and Craig Andre Gimongala; Arnis–Amena Madid and Glennon John Malisa; Athletics–Diana Mae Memoraciona and Mark Anthony Casenas; Badminton–Joshua B. Alquizar and Denmark N. Andig; Chess–Samantha Umayan and Gabriel John Umayan; Cycling–Liza Abellana and Brian Cantomayor; DanceSport–Randy D. Cortez and Milagros A. Sasin; Duckpin Bowling–Rolando Magday and Dimple Oleviros; Football–Angela Jessa Hifume and Gretl Margarethe Ong Tan; Karatedo–John Paul Ponce and Sofia Agullo; Motocross–Juven F. Lagrada; Muay Thai–Mark John Montes and Jahaziel Care G. Barbero; PhilSpada–Ernie Gawilan and Billy Cartera; Rugby–Raphael Carlo Mancha Jane Catherine Francisco; Table Tennis–Herzel Miles Abendan; Tenpin Bowling–Crystal Chavez and Danny Usman; Volleyball–Dux Euan L. Yambao and Angelo Joshua A. Gonzales; Wushu–Niel Ivan Udarbe and Roni Marielle A. Santiago.