TOP FOUR Kadayawan cagefest features UST, NU, UC, Davao Go-Duterte

The Davao City Go-Duterte squad will represent the city in the four-team hoopfest.

Manila and Cebu’s best collegiate squads and Davao’s own collection of young talents see action in what could be an exciting 2018 edition of the Kadayawan sa Dabaw Invitational basketball tournament which gets going on August 9-12 at the Davao City Recreation Center.

Out to defend their title in this 83rd Kadayawan showpiece organized by the city government of Davao are the Growling Tigers of University of Sto. Tomas. The Tigers, who will be coached this year by former De La Salle mentor Aldin Ayo, won last year’s title at the expense of a Davao City All-Stars squad in a tournament marred by a bench-clearing brawl between De La Salle University and Far Eastern University.

Another UAAP squad taking part this year is the National University Bulldogs, coached by Jamike Jarin, will parade the sons of PBA great Danny Ildefonso in Shaun and Sean Ildefonso. The third squad is Cebu City’s University of Cebu Webmasters, the school that produced PBA star Junmar Fajardo.

Representing Davao City is the Go-Duterte Davao Selection composed of collegiate standouts from Davao schools. The team was formed two months ago and recently won an out of town title beating University of Visayas in Barobo, Surigao del Sur. The Go-Duterte squad, backed up by the Samahang Basketball ng Pilipinas 11, will be mentored by former DLSU assistant coach Miggy Solitaria.

The tournament’s final composition was confirmed by City Sports Development Division-City Mayor’s Office (SDD-CMO) executive program director Irish Ortiz and SBP executive program officer Ronel Leuterio.

Presidential Adviser on Sports and concurrent SBP 11 regional director Glenn Escandor is overseeing the tournament which is co-presented by SDD-CMO.

“It is our aim to make the event successful and played according to rules and the spirit of true sportsmanship,” Escandor said.

Last year, tournament frontrunners DLSU and FEU got involved in an ugly fracas that resulted their disqualification, paving the way for UST and the Davao All Stars to play for the championship won by the Espana-based Tigers, 87-76, at the University of Southeastern Philippines (USEP) Gymnasium and Cultural Center.