Lady photographer wins Hulagway plum

List of 2018 winners bared

1st Prize "Kasadya" by Rowena Lou Diong

The city government of Davao has chosen a neophyte lady photographer to win the top prize of the Hulagway sa Araw ng Davao 2018 Photo Contest.

Three judges picked the standouts from 70 entries based on the event’s criteria: Creativity (30 percent), Composition (30 percent), Originality (30 percent) and Relevance to the Theme (10 percent).

The photo contest was topped by first-timer Rowena Lou Diong with her entry “Kasadya,” which showed how Davao City employees enjoyed the Araw ng mg Empleyado.

Based on judges’ decision, Diong’s piece is full of joy and excitement. It showed an employee hitting the earthen pot during a game. Diong will get a cash price of P15,000.

2nd Place: “Kung Kaya Mo, Kaya Ko” by Jason Daquigan

Second place was awarded to Jason Daquigan with his entry “Kung Kaya Mo, Kaya Ko.” Daquigan will get a cash prize of P10,000. His entry showed a group of persons with disability, who actively participated in the Parada Dabawenyo.

Henry Doctolero, Jr.’s “Shout for Joy” bagged the third major price and a cash prize of P5,000, which showed the triumph of children who won the Sayaw Pinoy Traditional Dance Competition.

Meanwhile, the Mayor’s Choice award was handed to “Ato Ni!” entry by Cherry Mae Calope, which showed a young Lumad girl selling her handcrafted bracelets. The said entry will will get P3,000 in cash prize.

3rd Place “Shout for Joy” by Henry Doctolero, Jr.

The 17 other entries who were also chosen as runners-up and the authors will get P1,500 each.

They are Julianne Nacional, Carlos Ng, Laarni Pillo, Jerson Flores, Bouchard Prado, Eduardo Flores, Jr., Climaco Cane, Cherry Mae Calope, Debbie Faye Selga (2 photos), Joselito Parantar, Jr., Jan Michael Paradilla, Erol Avanoglu (2 photos), Mark Anthony San and Joshua James Antiampo. Daquigan’s other photo also made it as runner-up. CIO