Pasidungog awards given to top taxpayers of 2016

The City Government of Davao, thru the Davao City Investment and Promotion Center held the Pasidungog: Garbo sa Dabaw, an appreciation and awarding program for the top business and real estate tax Payers of 2016 and individuals and organizations that contributed to the development of Davao City, on Tuesday, at the Royal Mandaya Hotel.

Topping the list of business tax payers was Davao Light & Power Company, Inc, followed by Mindanao Shopping Destination Corp., Holcim Philippines, Inc., Coca-cola FEMS Philippines, Inc., LTS Retail Specialists, Inc, Mindanao, Mindanao Shoppers Daily Destination, Corp., DSG & Sons Group, Inc., Samsung Electronics Phils., Corp., Mindanao Corrugated Fiberboard, Inc., and Supervalue Incorporated.

Therma South Inc. topped the list of the real estate business tax payers, followed by Davao Union Cement Corp., Accendo Commercial Corp., Southernpoint Properties Corp., SM Prime Holdings Inc., Halifax Davao Hotels, Davao Sunrise Investment & Development Corp., New City Commercial Center, Mindanao Corrugated Fiberboard., Inc. and Supervalue Incorporated.

According to Mr. Lemuel Ortonio, DCIPC chairperson, the list of awardees was based on the records coming from the City Treasurer’s Office and City Assessor’s Office.

“There is no better time to stand tall, united and resilient than now, when the city is getting so much attention. This is where the collective effort of everyone is a must if we want our city to grow and progress. May this recognition serve as inspiration for every Dabawenyo to take an active part in making our city a peaceful, progressive and livable place,” said Arturo Milan, Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer for DLPC as he spoke in behalf of the awardees.

The event was attended by key personnel of the different city government agencies namely, the newly appointed national chairman of the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) City Councilor Danilo Dayanghirang, City Administrator Atty. Zuleika T. Lopez, City Mayor’s Chief-of-Staff Atty. Raul Nadela, Jr., OIC of the Cooperative Development Office Julius Adrian Oxales, Leo Brian Leuterio of the City Agriculturist’s Office, Col. Erwin Neri of the Task Force Davao, Psupt. Dionesio Abude of the City Transport and Traffic Management Office (CTTMO) and Engr. Eliza Madrazo of the City Environment and Natural Resources Office.