Rotarians energize high school

STUDENTS and faculty members of G. Astilla Sr. Cultural Minority High School in Barangay Malamba, Marilog district of Davao City are now able to use computers in their studies and research activities.
This came after the Rotary Club of East Davao (RCED) and its sister club, Rotary Club of  Wakayanagi in Japan, brought electricity to the area at a total cost of P98,098. The RCED, headed by Ronnie Go, president, identified the project, while RC Wakayanagi gave funding support to it.
The energization of the high school enables its students to make use of computers recently donated by Davao City Mayor Rodrigo R. Duterte.
The project turnover was attended by president Atsushi Sasaki and immediate past president Takehiko Sasaki of the RC Wakayanagi, past district governor Reynaldo “Boy” Reyes, world community service district director Mickey Miyaki, other officers and members of the board of directors of RC East Davao.
The Department of Education was represented by education supervisor Ninie del Rosario and school principal Elmer Suarez.
Malamba barangay captain Romeo Inog said they were grateful for the support extended by the two Rotary clubs because residents will now have access to electricity for the first time in their community.
Officers of RCED and RC Wakayangagi are also looking to the possibility of energizing neighboring barangays Bantol and Suawan. Malamba is five kilometers from the Davao City-Bukidnon national highway.
The G. Astilla Sr. Cultural Minority High School was established in June 2001. About 80% of the 105 students belong to the indigenous peoples such as Bagobo Guiangan, Bagobo Obo, Bagobo Bawa, Matigsalog, and Ata.                          
RC East Davao also donated assorted books that were solicited by Rotarian Darcy Walsh who is the project director of the Basic Education Assistance to Mindanao, an Aus-AID funded project.
Other Rotarians who attended the turnover were immediate past president Leo Edwin Zantua, secretary Val Dionisio, past presidents Vir Sojor and Efren Elbanbuena and directors Jet Villamor, Yoichi Amano, Jim Sabino, and Roland Lavisores.