Starry, Sporty Night

For a change, Davao’s warriors in sporting arenas were not in their jersey, gi, or armours.

This is one of those rare nights–once in a year to be exact–they shine in their adorable formal wear. They are the stars of this glitzy, glamorous night.

On top of the heap are a pair of brave, young karatekas. The spotlight shine brightest in eight year old three-time winner Atsuko Kaiyel Tan and teammate Ian Carlos Pascual who were named Athletes of the Year as a fitting recognition for their accomplishments for the year in their chosen sport.

The awards were given annually by the Davao City Sports Council Inc. and the So Kim Cheng Sports Foundation Inc. and the 24th edition of the annual So Kim Cheng Sports Awards were held on Sunday at The Royal Mandaya Hotel.

The plaques of recognition were presented by Presidential Adviser on Sports Glenn Y. Escandor, guest speaker Atty. Guillermo Iroy, Jr., deputy executive director of the Philippine Sports Commission, City Sports Office officer-in-charge Mikey Aportadera, City Councilor Diosdado Mahipus, SKCSF chairman So Peng Kee, and DCSCI president Dexter So.

Edge Davao received a citation for its contribution to sports development in Davao City as media partner of the private institutions.

The complete list of awardees for the different sports are as follows:: Archery–Franceska Glen Gacal and Craig Andre Gimongala; Arnis–Amena Madid and Glennon John Malisa; Athletics–Diana Mae Memoraciona and Mark Anthony Casenas; Badminton–Joshua B. Alquizar and Denmark N. Andig; Chess–Samantha Umayan and Gabriel John Umayan; Cycling–Liza Abellana and Brian Cantomayor; DanceSport–Randy D. Cortez and Milagros A. Sasin; Duckpin Bowling–Rolando Magday and Dimple Oleviros; Football–Angela Jessa Hifume and Gretl Margarethe Ong Tan; Karatedo–John Paul Ponce and Sofia Agullo; Motocross–Juven F. Lagrada; Muay Thai–Mark John Montes and Jahaziel Care G. Barbero; PhilSpada–Ernie Gawilan and Billy Cartera; Rugby–Raphael Carlo Mancha Jane Catherine Francisco; Table Tennis–Herzel Miles Abendan; Tenpin Bowling–Crystal Chavez and Danny Usman; Volleyball–Dux Euan L. Yambao and Angelo Joshua A. Gonzales; Wushu–Niel Ivan Udarbe and Roni Marielle A. Santiago.