Newsman Tria elected 2020 DCCCI president

EDGE DAVAO columnist and business writer John Carlo B. Tria was unanimously elected Saturday president of the multi-awarded Davao City Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Inc. (DCCCII).

Tria, who also writes a column for Manila Bulletin and a number of community papers in the country, runs a few social enterprises in Davao City, hometown of President Rodrigo R. Duterte.
He is the first ever media person elected to head the chamber which turned 50 years old this year.

A graduate of the University of the Philippines-Diliman, Tria is a veteran of the DATE (Davao Agri-industrial Trade Exposition) and Davao ICON (Investment Conference), two banner annual events of the DCCCII, which had won as the country’s most outstanding chamber half a dozen times and twice a finalist in the most outstading chamber of the world competition.

I am thankful to the business community and the Chamber members for their trust and confidence. I am humbled and excited with the challenge of being president. 2020 will be an exciting year for all of us.

Last Saturday’s election marked the emergence of a number of young entrepreneurs as winners, an advocacy of incumbent chamber president Arturo M. Milan.

Other elected officers are Belinda Laya Torres, executive vice president; ( to be continued)

Cherrylin Casuga, VP for industry; Dr. Ma. Lourdes G. Monteverde, VP for trade and commerce:; Antonio T. dela Cruz, VP for professional services; Jennifer Dumlao, corporate secretary; and Malou Ampuan, corporate treasurer.

Earlier, Dr Monteverde, a former chamber president, topped the election of five new trustees.

Another former chamber president, De la Cruz also won the fifth trustee seat by winning a toss-coin conducted by former President Joji Ilagan-Bian, yesterday’s election committee chairperson, to settle a tie between dela Cruz and young entrep Marlon D. Rebaya.

The other trustees elected were Yvonne F. Cabada, Art Gerald B. Perez and Roland T. Suico. They will be joined by incumbent trustees Remigio “Boy” Salanatin, Rodger Velasco, Simeon Marfori II and Al Balagot.

The former presidents who are in the board of trustees now are Dr. Monteverde, dela Cruz ans Marfori.

Last Saturday’s election was also attended by former chamber presidents Sebastian Angliongto, Manuel “Bobby” Orig, Robert “Boyet” Quinto and Sofronio “Boy’ Jucutan.