Davao City remains under GCQ until June 30

President Rodrigo Duterte reviews a document during a meeting with members of the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) at the Malago Clubhouse in Malacañang on Monday evening. PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

Davao City remains under general community quarantine (GCQ) until June 30, 2020, President Rodrigo Duterte said on Monday night in his Talk to the People Address. 

After learning the President’s declaration, Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio reminded Dabawenyos on Monday the provisions provided by the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) in areas under GCQ. Among them is on the resumption of religious gatherings, which were frequently asked by the public. 

“Ang rule sa IATF sa GCQ, karon [Monday] naa pa man ta sa GCQ, not more than 10 kabuok ka tao. Ang version ana June 3 version sa IATF. Puwede ang religious gatherings basta not more than 10.”

Mayor Sara also announced the resumption of piso-net and internet cafe operations provided that two meters social distancing, regular disinfection the areas, and wearing of mask will be observed. 

“Ang piso-net ug internet cafe can open for administrative services (photocopying, scanning, printing, and other research services nga naa dinha sa internet. Pero dili sila pwede mag-open og gaming,” she said.

Restaurants in Davao City can now open their in-dining services but limited to 30 percent seating of their in-dining area capacity only based on the latest provision of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) of the Management of Emerging and Infectious Diseases. 

Apart from Davao City, other areas placed under GCQ is Zamboanga City in Mindanao and Metro Manila in Luzon.  

Meanwhile, Cebu City was reverted to enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) starting June 16, 2020 due to the increasing number of new cases and widespread community transmission in majority of barangays in the city, as well as consistent case doubling time of less than seven days and significant increase in critical care utilization against critical care capacity. 

The President also placed Talisay City, a component city under the province of Cebu, under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) until June 30, 2020, for the same reasons.

Duterte likewise placed under GCQ until month’s end Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Santiago City in Region II; Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Tarlac, Olongapo City in Region III; Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon in Region IV-A, and Occidental Mindoro for Luzon. 

For the Visayas, Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City in Region VII are placed under GCQ.   The rest of the country remains under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) until June 30, 2020.