Only 16 out of 76 released on GCTA in Davao Region returned

Only 16 out of 76 convicts released by virtue of the controversial Good Conduct Time Allowance (CGTA) in Davao Region surrendered to the Police Regional Office (PRO) 11 before the 15-day ultimatum given by President Rodrigo Duterte expired on Wednesday.


That means, there are 60 released convicts now considered fugitives and will be under manhunt. A P1 million bounty also awaits police captors of each fugitive.

PRO 11 disclosed that the 16 convicts who gave themselves up voluntarily are now under the custody of the Davao City Police Office (DCPO), Davao del Norte Provincial Police Office (DNPO), Davao del Sur Provincial Police Office (DSPPO), Compostela Valley Provincial Police Office (CVPPO), Davao Oriental Provincial Police Office (DOPPO), and Davao Occidental Provincial Police Office (DOCPPO).

Most of the surrenderees turned themselves to the DCPO including Danilo Palicte, Mateo Pasaporte, Ian Caasi, Julius Apud and Jobert Mendoza.

PRO 11 also revealed that Agustin Esperta, Anthony Mutya, Richard Oros, and Bobong dela Cruz yielded at the DNPPO.

Rosalito Abrea and Jemuel Traya surrendered to the DSPPO while a certain Vincent Tabigue also yielded to the DOPPO.

Ramon Valiente, Roberto Sivuyan and Rosendo Ernoso turned themselves in at the CVPPO. Lastly, Celito Tablingon surrendered at the DOCPPO.

These beneficiaries of GCTA law will undergo further recomputation and investigation.

Meanwhile, PRO 11 spokesperson Police Major Jason Baria said the deadline given by the President ended last Wednesday, September 18, and those who refused to yield are now considered fugitives. 

PRO 11 established a tracker unit in every Provincial Police Offices and DCPO to hunt these fugitives as mandated by the Philippine National Police (PNP).