DLSU battles NU in all-UAAP Kadayawan hoops finale

De La Salle University and National University battle it out for the 2019 Kadayawan Invitational Basketball title on Wednesday night at the Davao City Recration Center. The Green Archers, who beat the University of the Visayas 97-76 on Tuesday night, will try to annex their second straight Kadayawan title.

Only one more match separate the defending champion De La Sale University and another championship in Davao City.

After completing a sweep of the 2019 Kadayawan Invitational basketball tournament eliminations with a 97-76 conquest of University of the Visayas Green Lancers at the Davao City Recreation Center on Tuesday night, the Green Archers will meet the National University Bulldogs for the title. 

The titular showdown was being played as of presstime.

Justin Baltazar led the Taft-based greenshirts with 23 points while Jordan Bartlett added 22 forming a two-man demolition squad for coach Jermaine Byrd.

Gelant Delator paced the multi-titled Cebu squad with 19 markers while Melvin Butohan dropped 11.

The Bulldogs, on the other hand, earned the right to meet DLSU after thwarting Southwestern University Cobras 74-63.

Issa Gaye led the Bulldogs with 14 points while Dave Ildefonso added 12 markers.

The Cobras leaned on Red Cachuela’s 18 points in a losing cause while Lamine Thiam chipped in 16.

In the eliminations, DLSU turned back NU 86-72 to earn the favorite tag. The event is presented by Escandor Cup and Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) 11 in partnership with the Sports Development Division-City Mayors Office (SDD-CMO).

It is also sponsored by Davao City mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio, Vice Mayor Sebastian “Baste” Duterte and Congressman Paulo “Pulong” Duterte.