JABONG! Diamond Edition PAL Interclub

It’s the season once again.

Mindanao will host the most awaited golf extravaganza for amateur golfers in the country. Pueblo de Oro golf club in Cagayan de Oro and the tree lined tight fairways of rolling Del Monte golf club in Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon will test the mettle of the top club teams in the country. Dubbed as PAL’s Diamond Anniversary edition, the country’s unofficial club championship will kick off on February 22,2024 that will last until March 4,2024.

Am I excited? You bet. This will be my second time to play in this prestigious tournament. Thanks to my editor in chief Neil Bravo in allowing this writer once again to represent our paper, the Edge Davao to cover the event. A traditional special tournament will be held for us media practitioners on February 26 to 27, that’s why.

It will surely be a hellluvah-fun-filled-two-days-golf. Excited to once again meet my kumpadre Al “AlMen” Mendoza, the ageless Jake Ayson, Rey “Reyban” Bancod and the others from the broadcast media headed by ABS CBN Danny Buenafe and GMA’s Igan Clavio.

In the more serious side. It will be a total war in the Seniors and regular men’s category with the adaption of the new Four to play three to count format. A big challenge for all the teams to field the best eight players they could muster and hopefully the least player they fielded won’t create much damage in the total team output for the day.


Davao City is ready for the challenge and will represented by five clubs namely Apo Golf, Lanang Golf, The Rancho Palos Verdes, The South Pacific and the Matina Golf club.

Apo Golf will be spearheaded by Team Captain Mark Oropeza, ably supported by Vincent Gumapac, Denden de Castro, Juan Karloz Alba, Adi Briones, Herminio John Raneses Jr., Miguel Angelo Fusilero and Fraz Nino Pasquil.

“It’s a mixture of veterans and young guns” says Director Mark Oropeza, Apo Golf’s Sports Committee Chairman.

The Apo Golf Senior’s team is composed of Regino “DenCap” Capa, the veteran Larry Baluso, Alberto Bong Belen, Alimar Etrone, Edwin Cayamanda, Edgar Z. Cabrera, Jong Manulid and Gerardo Josol.

Lanang Golf will also field teams in the two categories. Lanang Regular team will be bannered by King Eagle Dennis Salvador, Pogs Cabreros, Migs Dizon, Luis Mata, Josue Tesado Jr, Mark Villorente, Dom Venuti and Ruy Lopez.

Team Captain Paul Dacudao will spearhead the Senior’s team composed of George Cabebe, Henry Evangelista, Danny Gotera, Bok Mata, Pitoy Palma Gil, Bobby Plana and Raymundo Salvador.

Rancho Palos Verdes men’s regular team will be composed majority of Davao’s young guns headed by EJ Casintahan and ably supported by Roderick Lo, Leo Yap, Enzo Magno, Chris Tan, Sim Gonzales, James Morente and Club Champion Cri Babol.

South Pacific Golf Club and Matina Golf will also compete in the two categories but have not yet bared their final line up.

Action and hostilities will start on February 22-25,2024 for the Seniors and from March 1-4,2024 for the Men’s regular. In between will be the Media tournament to be held also on the two host golf clubs in Cagayan de Oro and Bukidnon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here